Unquenchable

Currently Reading:  The best book in the world. (for those of you who can’t see, it’s The Unquenchable Worshipper by Matt Redman)

 

I came on this quote, and it stopped me, and I had to re-read it.

“Enter the UNQUENCHABLE worshipper. This world is full of fragile loves-love that abandons, love that fades, love that divorces, love that is self-seeking. But the UNQUENCHABLE worshipper is different. From a heart SO AMAZED by God and HIS wonders BURNS a LOVE that WILL NOT BE EXINGUISHED. It survives any situation, and lives through any circumstance. It will NOT allow itself to be QUENCHED, for that would HEAP INSULT on the LOVE it lives in responce to.”

Does that wreak anyone elses thoughts about worship?

Push…no, pull.

 

Recently while I was walking a friend to class, I pulled yet another “dumb brown/red” (what DO you call my hair color, dirt? Virginia Soil?) moment. When we get to the door way, to enter the building, I try to push it. It is not working. Oh my goodness, what is going on with the door? I think. She’s laughing and laughing at me. “What?” I say. “Look! Joy!”….Yeah, there was definitely a bright red sign on the door saying “pull.”

 How often do I do that to myself? I stand before doors, trying to push them open. I throw myself on them, I push as hard as I can, and then I realise that I was supposed to be pulling.

Sometimes I wonder if God is beside me, laughing with me when I realize I was supposed to be pulling. Sometimes I wonder if he gets excited when I “get” things.

Sometimes I wonder if He gets tired of watching me try and push the door, when he’s given me eyes to see that it says pull, I just want to do it “my way.”

Slowely I realise there’s only one way to open the door, and that’s His way, the makers, the designers way.

He’s planned for each door of my life to open at a certian time, and close when he wants it to. He’s controlling everything, and it’s comforting.

Don’t stair so hard at the closed door. Don’t try and pull it open if it says to push. And if it is closed, without a way to open it, leave it and find another one, as hard as it may be, and as much as it hurts. Preaching to myself.