stun me

(Washington DC. March 30, 2008) 

 100_1215.jpg

When was the last time His glory and presence blew you away? When was the last time you stood before Him in amazement and wonder of His beauty and grace? When was the last time you allowed Him to sweep you onto new adventures? When was the last time His humility

I think a lot of times we get used to living life, and we forget the blessing of the brokenness, and the joy of LIVING. We get desensitized to His presence, and to His glory. It becomes “just another day in the life of a Christian.”

I want to be amazed. I want to be romanced. I want to be blown away by the God who created the world.

Why does six flags give me more of a sense of thrill then serving Jesus? Why does the Washington monument amaze me more then the mountains?

Why must I take for granted the flowers, the trees, and the beautifulness of life?

Why must I wait until I go to a retreat or a conference to ‘enounter God’ in breathtaking ways?

I pray a risky prayer today. I pray to encounter my God. I pray to be romanced (yes, Melisa, romanced) by Him, I pray He becomes my EVERYTHING.

I want to have a better understanding of my Father in heaven. I want to weep for what He weeps for. I want to bleed for the things that he bleeds for. I want to break into 1,000 pieces for the things that crush his heart. I want to love Him more.

The thing is, in order for this to happen I must die. Everything I want, everything I desire. Everything I THINK I need. Why? Because I must be empty before He can fill my heart with amazement.

 Are we willing to risk our safety, our well-being, our COMFORT, our security to a “dangerous” God? Are we willing to let Him blow us away?