Feeding toughs make uncomfortable beds

I admit. I’ve always wondered why Jesus was born in a manger. I mean, a feeding trough does not make the most comfortable bed. Something that my Pastor said on Sunday floored me. he said: The reason why Jesus was born in a manger was so that no human hands could claim they slept in his bed. The reason why Jesus was born in a stable is so that no inkeeper could brag that he had witnessed the birth of Jesus. The reason why Jesus was born in Bethlehem was so that no great city would be praised with the birth of a king, instead, God took this little child, placed him in the humblest place on earth-a dirty animal feed holder covered in slime.

“She gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and layed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.” Luke 2:7

Something my Pastor said that shocked me is the fact that Mary did not have to go! She could have stayed home, but she chose to go. It’s amazing that out of ANYTIME Jesus could have been born God chose to have him be born not at home, but far away from any sort of comfort. He chose to have him born in a tiny manger, instead of a warm bed. He chose to lay him in an uncomfortable trough in the worst situation, but this child was different. This child changed the world. This child saved my life. This child is Jesus.

I think even Santa would agree that this child is worth kneeling for.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin Arn
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 00:54:59

    Arrived @ your site ‘by accident’. I’d like to leave you with this thought ; Our Lord Jesus is ‘the bread that came down from heaven that gives life to the world”Is’nt the wisdom of our Father God wonderfully demonstrated by presenting His Son to us in a bread basket? My Websters def. is ‘a feeding trough in a barn or stable’

    Reply

  2. Ash
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 05:13:26

    Interesting, i’ve never really thought about like why Jesus was born in a manager, I mean I guess i’ve just thought it’s the humblest means. I mean it’s like extremes the son of GOd being born in a dirty stinky place pretty weird.
    How is finding a pastor going??
    love you!

    Reply

  3. garmentofpraise
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 06:56:00

    Kevin-hey cool! Thanks for stopping by, and for adding onto my thoughts! That is really awesome! It is amazing how God brought Jesus down into a bread basket 🙂 Hope you come back, thanks for reading!

    Ash-Pastor search is going pretty good. We have had over 100 applications, so now it comes down to weeding through them all. We’re still looking for a worship minister…know any cool ones there at DTS/Minn?
    Yeah, I never really thought of it until this year. Interesting eh? (Do I should Canadian?)
    Love you and miss you.

    Reply

Leave a comment